BJD Winter Deals and Black Friday?

BJD companies are jumping into the spirit of Black Friday deals!

BJD Life

Get ready for Black Friday BJD Deals!!!!

Gotta love the BJD Life!

The United States is pretty big into Black Friday. A day where businesses and companies go out of the red and back into the black. There is even Small Business Saturday that follows Black Friday in an effort to support small business owners. The key question is-Do BJD Companies and businesses do Black Friday deals?

What we will show you this week...

-BJD Black Friday/Winter Deals

-Will more BJD companies do Black Friday?

-Artist Highlight

Black Friday Sales/Winter Events

This past week I sent out a message onto some of my social media sites to see if anyone out there was jumping on the Black Friday wagon. There are very few companies that are doing Black Friday sales this year but I was able to dig out a few events worth looking into.

RingDoll

Surprisingly one of the actual BJD Companies is offering Black Friday sales. Ringdoll has sales on re-released dolls and in stock full set dolls. Ringdoll also has a lucky bags that you can purchase for 50% off. Some of the bags include accessories or you can purchase the random lucky doll bag and get a doll at a discounted price.

Gem of Doll

Another BJD Company is offering some deals with 30-40% off outfits and some dolls. There are some super cute dolls that you can literally order for half their marked price! Want some great clothing sets? Check out what Gem of Doll has on sale!

DOLK BJD

I know we are already past Halloween but DOLK has a sale still running called the “Halloween Sale” they have items that are up to 50% off! There are dolls, shoes, wigs, and more for you to check out!

AelithArt

Are you into 3D printing your own dolls? Well AelithArt is having a sale on their shop! They offer 25% off and this includes 3D printing files! You can also enjoy 25% off on their shop on Etsy! Check them out!

The ones you probably know about already but here they are anyway!

Legend Doll

Legend Doll has several sales all the way through December-here are a few

Alice’s Collection

Another popular place to buy BJD goodies is Alice’s Collection. Right now they have a winter event in which you can get wigs, shoes, and eyes for $1 with qualifying purchases.

Will more companies do Black Friday/Small Business Saturday/Cyber Monday?

This hobby is such a niche hobby to begin with. Something as trendy as Black Friday may not be familiar to a lot of foreign places. I think the tougher thing is that the profit margin for most places is not that much to begin with and therefore making huge sales is tough for most people to handle.

This being said I think that a great thing for doll collectors to do is to find small businesses to support this week/holiday. Take a look on Etsy, Instagram, DOA, Facebook, or even within your own local community. Let’s support these amazing people who make wonderful things for our dolls!

Artist Highlight:

Missy with MissysImaginings 

(also check out her site here!)

There are people out there in the community that are so crafty! I wish I had just a drop of their creativity! Missy is top tier when it comes to creating patterns and sewing. You will want to check out her site where you can get some free patterns for your dolls! Please give her a follow and check out her Youtube Channel too!

From Missy:

I've loved fashion since I was in junior high. Sadly, back then, couture was never designed for my body type or my wallet! The realities of life led me into a career in education, but I still love fancy clothing.

I have been sewing since I was about twelve, and started on my mother's old Singer (which I still have). My mom taught me how to read a pattern along with some sewing basics. I would design dresses for my Barbies as well as myself. The first Barbie dress I made was of a simple cotton and had VERY square shoulders (since my twelve year old self drew it out like a box)! Miraculously, it turned out perfectly, like something Katherine Hepburn would wear. I was hooked and have been at it ever since.

Inspiration comes from all over. Sometimes it's an actual fashion trend, sometimes an image, and sometimes I'll get an idea from something as simple as a color. I'm not really sure how it works. For my dolls, I do enjoy recreating some of the wonderful fashions worn by favorite artists.

In my adult years, I was going to sew up a bunch of clothing for my niece's Barbies. I bought a bunch of patterns when they were on sale at the fabric store. Once home, I was sad to find that a bunch of them were way too big for Barbie, so they went in a drawer ... for about ten years. One day, while cleaning out the drawer, I found them again. I wondered if those kind of dolls were still around. I looked online and discovered the beautiful, fashionable Tonner Doll Company. That led to actual collecting, MORE sewing, and the wonderful world of DOLL SHOWS! It was here that I was introduced to my heart's delight ~ Ball Jointed Dolls. I was in love. Now, I enjoy all aspects of the BJD hobby from pattern design & sewing, faceups, wig making, sculpting shoes, and most recently ~ making eyes.

I would say that if you want to make your own doll clothing, just TRY! Find some inexpensive fabric at a garage sale or thrift store and just have fun. Don't put pressure on yourself to be perfect when you're beginning. Let yourself have time to practice. Get used to the way fabrics feel, the way a needle and thread feels in your hand. My opinion for the most important tool would be a good pair of fabric scissors. They don't have to break the bank. Just a good set that's ONLY used on fabric. The next thing would be to download and print out some of my free patterns! When I first started sewing for BJDs, patterns were pretty scarce and quite expensive. I decided to try making some myself, and if I could do it, I wanted them to be easily accessible to anyone who would want to try sewing them. That's what led me to starting missysimaginings. I want all dolly collectors to have a resource for creativity.

As for the future, I would love to see our community grow. I love connecting with Blog followers and YouTube watchers, and I try to be helpful whenever I can!

Survey~

I always like to know what YOU want to read more about or see. Are there topics you want more information on? Do you want to hear more about a certain type of doll? What things do you like to read about?

Get some cool BJD gifts for your friends!

Speaking of supporting businesses I also have an Etsy shop where you can get cool BJD Merch! BJD Life! This can be the perfect gift for your BJD friends! I offer free shipping within the US!

I also have a Kofi page too!

Until next time...

Have a dollytastic day!

BJD Life

PO Box 690835, San Antonio
United States of America